I’M GOING TO BELGIUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No, that title isn’t fake, I promise.  I am seriously going to Belgium, to race my bike.  It’s slowly settling in, but I don’t believe it will settle in until I board the plane to leave…this continent for the first time EVER!!!  An incredible opportunity arose from no where (to me it felt like it came from no where) and I had to say yes, and then I needed to make it happen.  Lets start from the beginning (okay not the very start, how about from Tuesday).  I was at work between clients and I decided to check my email.  I saw this random name with the title “EuroCrossCamp”, I honestly thought it was Spam in my inbox (Yes I had heard of the EuroCrossCamp, but I thought it was solely for males and was confused as to why something like this appeared in my inbox).  Confused, I opened the email, and sure enough my name was written at the top, this couldn’t possibly be Spam.  As I read the email, my jaw slowly dropped, further and further down my body, if I was a cartoon character my jaw would have been on the floor.  Sure enough, it was an email from Geoff Proctor, the director, asking if I would be interested in coming along for the EuroCrossCamp this year.  Elle Anderson, who has been crushin’ all season, is headed over the pond with them and he wanted another top female to room with her.  Wait…you read that correctly, he said “top female”.  What the heck?!  How did this happen?  Apparently my efforts haven’t gone completely unnoticed.  Once I realized what I had just read I seriously jumped 10 feet off the ground ( maybe it was more like 1 foot) and then I ran circles around the gym throwing my arms up into the air, my clients, along with everyone else in the gym stared at me thinking “what the heck”.  I then told them the fantastic news.  The only thing that came to mind that would prevent me from going would be the cost, no need to put dollar signs in front of experiences, but it’s a hefty amount to get across the pond and be there for a couple of weeks.

The details:  The camp usually heads over for the major 2 weeks of racing that occurs in Belgium, I have heard so much about it, and I can’t wait to see it first hand (Head over Dec. 18th return home Jan 2nd).  Included in the races are 2 world cups.  That’s right, 2 world cups.  Never in my life time did I imagine I would be racing World Cups, EVER!  The only crummy part is I will probably get a pretty bad call up because in the whole scheme of things I don’t have that many UCI points, BUT, that means I can only move forward!  We will also be racing in 3 other races while we are there.  You can read more about the Eurocrosscamp HERE.

While heading over to Belgium to race means I miss Christmas at home ( I was so looking forward to smelling that fresh pine tree in the house), I am so excited for this experience, something I never thought imaginable, particularly this year.  I am so lucky to have such a generous Dad and Mom who understand how hard I have worked to be where I am, and realize that my efforts have taken me so close to the top, and have offered to help get me across to Europe.  I am so grateful for one of my friends who is the most generous person I have ever met.  You have to know who you are!  I am grateful for those who have donated miles and dollars to help my racing this year (and last), because without you I wouldn’t have this fantastic opportunity.  I am still trying to figure out how all this happened, it doesn’t feel like reality.

When I look back at my season I see and all my results, I see all the ups and downs I have had in the past 3 months.  I have had great races and I have had so so races.  I can’t help but think how excited I am to see where I can be a year from now.  Every year I dig a little harder to get that much stronger and faster.  I look forward to the rest of the season, the up coming experiences, and the future of my racing!

One thought on “I’M GOING TO BELGIUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

